Netflix’s “We Have a Ghost” Brings Haunted Houses into the TikTok Age

Not me caring about the characters in a ghost movie…

Nia Simone McLeod
4 min readMar 3, 2023
A Black teenage boy stands in a dark room using his phone as a flashlight, looking off into the distance, frightened.
screenshot from the “we have a ghost” trailer

*Minor spoilers for Netflix’s “We Have a Ghost” below*

I cannot believe that as a proud user of Beyoncé’s internet I didn’t know that the Netflix movie We Have a Ghost existed until the day it was released.

It’s a horror-comedy, a genre I’m a fan of, featuring a cast from TV shows I’ve enjoyed in the past, including mini-Ralph Tresvant from The New Edition Story (Jahi Di’Allo Winston) and my main mans from Stranger Things (David Harbour).

Like, what is going on algorithms? I let you track me through my 3 AM deep dives of extreme haunted houses I’ll never attend and High School Musical video essays and this is how you repay me?

Despite internet algorithms taking a major L with their marketing dollars, Netflix ended up displaying We Have a Ghost on Netflix’s front page during its Friday premiere, so I ended up watching it regardless.

Sometimes capitalism be hitting. What do people say, “Even a broken clock is right twice a day?”

--

--

Nia Simone McLeod

Writer covering whatever piques my interest | she/her | Subscribe to my newsletter: https://ohwrite.substack.com/welcome